It is assumed by most all that everyone on the road is required by law to have some form of auto insurance. However surprisingly enough this is not always the case. Now don’t everyone go pack up your things and be halfway out the door trying to save themselves of having to pay, for their still is plenty of liability for these drivers.
New Hampshire is the first and is the only state that does not mandate that drivers insure themselves. Unfortunately, if you were to get into an accident, get caught driving under the influence, or incur a serious traffic violation, you are required to have insurance. A little ironic isn’t it. If you are unable to cover the damages when getting into an accident, consider your license as good as gone.
The other two states, California and Wisconsin, do not require you to carry insurance. If you choose not to insure yourself, you are still required to prove that you can cover damages if something were to go wrong and it is not cheap. In California a single driver is responsible for up to $30,000 compensation for injury or death caused to multiple individuals in a single accident and $5,000 in property costs. So either you fork over $35,000 cash, or file a bond for that amount with the DMV. Wisconsin runs on the same principle but there it will cost you $60,000. If pulled over and you don’t have insurance, officers will look to see if the money is there.
Our insurance professionals understand that auto insurance can be an endless road of twists and turns, and the choices can be overwhelming.. Contact us today at 724-863-3420 to learn how we can save you money, protect your assets, and let you drive off knowing we’ve got you covered